Facebook and Self control.

I have one question, and one question only to ask you. Are you willing to leave your Facebook alone for one week?

If someone were to ask me that, I would immediately say no, because I literally check my Facebook at least 30 times a day.  Facebook and social networking in general are such a big part of everyday life now,  it allows us to connect with friends, new and old, network with new clients, even protest what we believe in and let our voices be heard. But Facebook can also be a major distraction, and here lately I’ve noticed this has been the case for me. I kept scrolling through the same feed over and over then I just stopped and asked myself “Why am I wasting so much time?”.

I began to think that maybe I was addicted to Facebook, I couldn’t get any projects I wanted to do done, I was late working on homework, and to be honest nothing on Facebook is that important and something  needed to be done immediately. I decided to give up Facebook and Twitter for a week. 

After searching the web for every possible 15 minutes for a perfect way to block these sites (because I didn’t want to deactivate my account) I found an app you can download to your Mac called Self Control, basically what it is, is an app that blocks a certain website(s) for up to 24 hours.  Once the timer is started, it can not be undone by the application, by deleting the application, or by restarting the computer you MUST wait for the timer to run out. 

This app is great for designers like myself and pretty much anyone who needs a little more time. I can focus on my work without having that tempting distraction of Facebook or Twitter on  my mind. I’ve deleted FB and twitter apps on ALL of my devices and stopped the mobile notifications. 

So far, I’m 24 hours social networking clean, and I feel like I have more time to do the things I want to do. I would highly recommend it to anyone.  

So my question is, Are you willing to leave your Facebook alone for one week?

 

Download Self Control App

About Ariana Bartlett Designs & Illustrations

I'm here to inspire ... To take whatever it is your brilliant brain can think of and bring it to life. Life is about living to the fullest, and in todays world you can be anything you want to be, and do whatever you want to do if you put your MIND to it, so my question to you is, what will you be today?

Posted on March 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

